Random Trivia and Checking In

I’ve always wondered why there are so many reboots of super hero movies. Batman comes to mind, it seems like there’s a new origin movie for him every 5 years or so.

Yesterday I read that it’s because if studios don’t make a new super hero movie every so often, they’ll lose the rights to those characters. I guess they’d rather make the same movie over and over again than lose the rights.

I thought I’d pop in for a minute just to say I’m still around. So how is my writing goal going? It’s sort of changed directions. I’ve done a great job of writing every day, I’ve just been focused on working on this script. It’s been a really interesting challenge. I’m still not entirely sure I’m doing it right, but I love the process so far.

I’m attempting to write an R rated comedy. It seems like a natural choice for me. Of course, that puts a lot of pressure on me to have funny things happening. I read through the script for Bridesmaids and started breaking it down page by page. I realized that there is something funny on almost every single page. Either an action line that sets up a physical joke or a funny bit of dialogue. YMMV since some of the gags didn’t really tickle me, but I could see where it was something that someone would laugh at.

One thing that is bothering me is that my second scene, which is really a huge part of setting up the character’s first act life so it really has to exist in some form, takes place in a car as he and his best friend drive to work. It makes good sense logically since the next scene is of them at work. However, I don’t think it’s a good idea in a comedy. I noticed that Bridesmaids does pretty much that exact thing with the main character and her bff in a coffee shop, just sitting there talking. I’m honestly not even sure how that scene even got to stay. I would have figured someone would have rewritten it so that they were riding camel back while they chatted or something.

I’m starting to become quite the expert about raunchy comedies lately. I feel like I’ve watched pretty much all of them by now. As far as I’m concerned Revenge of the Nerds is the best of them. Although I’m pretty sure they’d all be in prison by the end for the crap they pull throughout the movie, it’s still such a great example of a fun movie. There’s not a single character or situation that feels like it doesn’t belong or that it could have been done in a better way. I can’t think of a single other movie that I feel that way about.

It pains me to say this because I am a huge fan of Stepbrothers, but there were a lot of scenes that just weren’t funny to me. The sleepwalking scenes, for example, were painful. The Christmas dinner tryst was just awkward.

Anyway, I didn’t mean to ramble. I’m hoping to finish up my first draft of my script on Monday. At that point I’m going to set it aside and work on another idea I have. So I’m excited about the idea of finishing an honest to god script. Or at least the first draft. That’s something else I never thought I’d do.

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

