August in review

I’ll admit I’ve been a bit reluctant to blog since I got my new laptop. I’ve always used Windows Live Writer (I think it’s called) and had a lot of luck with it. Well, with a name like that, you know it isn’t exactly Mac-friendly so I’m trying out a new bit of Mac software (Qumana) to write this post so we’ll see how THAT goes.

I can’t believe August is already over. It went by in an incredibly busy blur. The boys started school early here so they spent almost the entire month in school. There was also the process of unpacking and settling into our new house. That’s actually kind of fail since we’ve still got quite a few boxes that need to be unpacked. We’ve sort of devoted an entire room to storing them all. But on the other hand, what else are we going to do with it?

It’s been hard for me to really address anything writing related. My mental state lately reminds me of my dog and how any tiny puff of air that stirs up a leaf or a bug buzzing by will totally distract him from whatever he was doing and he never realy goes back to the first task. Not a particularly flattering comparison, I know, but it’s sadly pretty apt.

As I mentioned, I’ve made the switch to a MacBook so I’m still trying to find or learn the software that replaces what I’m used to learning. I’m not comfortable enough with using any of it that I’m ready to write a comprehensive review of anything yet, but so far I’m trying to work with a combination of Scrivener and Circus Ponies NoteBook. I’m a fast enough learner that I can use the most basic features already, but I’m pretty sure that I’m missing out on a TON of functionality.

So as I scrabble to set up some kind of consistancy in my schedule (I’ve been abusing iCal and hopefully I can find a system to keep me on track, schedule-wise), I’ll leave you with some photos from the last month.

mom's flowersbouquetDinner with the Sirens

baseball slide

at the lake

2 Comments

Filed under Free Time

2 responses to “August in review

  1. I LOVE my MacBook Pro. It’s the best thing I own probably.

  2. I’ve never had a MacBook Pro, so I can’t comment on that, but I do love your pictures!! Awesome giveaway, too 😀

Leave a Reply

