YA Indie Carnival- Introduction

YAindiecarni.header

Fridays are about to become a lot more festive around the Nest. I’ve joined a great group of authors and reviewers who have banded together to talk about all things indie. As you know I LOVE talking shop. So this is right up my alley.

This week is a quick introduction and why we chose to go indie.

My story starts in January, almost 6 long months ago. That’s when I came across Amanda Hocking. I was looking at some also boughts one day and happened to click on one of her books. At that point I had no idea she was self published, as an uninformed reader there is virtually no easy way to tell the difference on first glance. I saw that she did some collage and since I do collage I visited her blog.

I’ve visited a lot of blogs before and since, but I’m not sure I could honestly say that any other blog literally changed my life. It sounds dramatic, but it’s true. I went from someone who hadn’t even heard about indie publishing to writing my first book in days. A few months later I had my debut novel, I Wish… available for purchase and to my amazement, people were buying it. And loving it! It was the most incredible feeling in the world.

That’s also when I started my mission to share my indie publishing experience on this blog. For better or worse, I’ve shared everything from my sales numbers to my writing process. My most popular post of all time on the blog is the one where I lay out how I outline my novels.

I’m really looking forward to this series of posts as an opportunity to reach a new audience of indies who might be able to learn from my experiences. And to learn something from the people who pass through.

Like any good carnival, there are other booths to explore. Check out these other stops on the midway!

5 Comments

Filed under YA Indie Carnival

5 responses to “YA Indie Carnival- Introduction

  1. Wren, Thanks for the shout-out. I loved your post about outlining. Very Cool. Thanks for sharing:) Can’t wait until next week!

  2. It is great to get to know you and these other very inspiring Indie authors/bloggers! I’m really enjoying it.

  3. Thanks for letting me join the ride! Looking forward to getting to know everyone in the group. 🙂

    Cyndi

Leave a Reply

