Courtney Cole’s blog tour

For those of you who read Courtney Cole’s debut novel Every Last Kiss, you’ll be excited to know that the sequel went live early. Fated is now available for purchase. Unlike me, she’s actually pretty good at self promotion and she has a plan to celebrate this event.

Starting on Monday, Court is going to answer interviews at a different blog every day. You can get the details here, but I’ll go ahead and sum up the blog line up:

There will be a chance to win a pretty cool prize pack:

  • An autographed copy of Meant To Be by Tiffany King, along with bookmarks and some miscellaneous signed Tiffany King swag.
  • An autographed copy of The Understorey by Fisher Amelie and a bookmark.
  • Autographed copies of Every Last Kiss and Fated by Courtney, with bookmarks. 
  • An e-copy of Blood Like Poison: Destined for a Vampire by M. Leighton
  • An e-copy of I Wish by Wren Emerson
  • An e-copy of Curiosities, Inc. by Patti Larsen
  • An e-copy of Violet Midnight by Allie Burke
  • An e-copy of Princess, by Courtney
  • And I’m going to throw in a set of 4 collaged postcards for funsies.

I’ll post reminders so you know where we’re at on the tour. It should be fun and the chance to win some of the hottest indie YA paranormal is better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick any day.

Speaking of Courtney, I’ve been trying to convince her to give collage a try. Buy a couple of tubes of cheap acrylic craft paint (around $.50-$1), a pair of scissors, and some glue and you’re literally ready to start. Well, except for the best part, of course.

I’ve been saving magazines, books, and other found papers for years. I have an awesome used bookstore in town that sells all kinds of amazing books. It’ll probably be the only thing I miss when I move. I can find foreign language books, sheet music, and some of the most fantastic illustrated books.

To say I have a collage stash is probably understating quite a bit. So naturally I packed Court a nice fat package full of a bunch of different kinds of fun papers.

collage papers 5

collage papers 1

collage papers 2

collage papers 3

Because I have so many cool papers in my stash, I thought I would make them available to anyone who’d like one. You can buy a package of assorted found papers here. It’s a great way to get started without a amassing a huge collection the way I have.

ICAD:

icad jun 22 11

Not a lot to say about this one. I just grabbed some scraps and created a quick and dirty collage.

icad jun 23 11

Someone’s been reading John Locke’s book… Ok, it’s me. I get the impression that he’s a salesman first and an author as an afterthought. I’m not so sure how well his methods would work for me.

icad jun 24 11

What a crooked scan. Ah well, that’s how it turns out sometimes, I have no idea why. The house is made from some painted papers I have laying around. The roof looks awfully washed out, but it’s actually got some subtle texture and some green going on. The journaling is from a song lyric. I’m not digging the background at all. But again, oh well. My ICADS are usually put together in about 15 minutes or less. No time for perfection.

Art Journal Every Day:

AJED Jun 22 11

Someone made a comment to me on a blog that I felt was critical at best and quite possibly a personal attack (they didn’t bother to use any kind of a “real” name. They just called themselves something like “Wren, you’re totally wrong”. Heavy paraphrasing on my part, but still it was close).

Anyway, I found the dog and really wanted to use it because, c’mon, adorable! And I realized it was perfect as a focal image for my frustration about trying not to be a total dick online even when that’s exactly what I feel like acting like. So I gave my saintly, tongue biting pug a set of angelic (sort of) wings because let’s be real, that shit is hard to do. Get down with your bad self, Dog!

AJED Jun 23 11

Ah, my page about my terrible habit of putting life off until some arbitrary goals are met. Everything is going to be better for me… someday. It’s just a little reminder to myself that time is slipping by lightning fast and I’m missing out on a lot of great opportunities by waiting for some distant future that will probably never happen.

I have a page for today, but my pictures ended up unacceptably blurry. Since you’ve seen the quality of the pictures I take, you KNOW it’s gotta be bad. I’ll post it tomorrow or with the next big batch of photos I put up.

2 Comments

Filed under ICAD & Art Journal Every Day, promotion

2 responses to “Courtney Cole’s blog tour

  1. Awww- thanks, Lil Wren! You’re so good to me. I can’t wIt to get the box.
    I promise I’ll take pictures of my artsy efforts. If you promise not to laugh (very much). Love and hugs!!

  2. Oh good, I was afraid you might already be in bed and missed the pictures. I know I said I’d post them “in a minute”, but Wren time is different than regular time.

Leave a Reply

