Trying a new experiment

I decided to try a pricing experiment this month. As I mentioned yesterday, my total income for all of the last week was only $7. While I’m grateful for every copy I sell, the profit I see on a $.99 is only $.35. I doubt very much I’ll ever be able to be able to make a living at that pace. Those same 20 sales would have netted me $40 at the $2.99 price point. Still not ready to retire on it, but it’d at least fill my gas tank.

So for the next month or until the sequel of I Wish… comes out, I’m pricing at the higher point and seeing what it does to sales. I’d hate to take a hit on sales, but the higher profit might make it worthwhile. As always, I’ll report my numbers openly at the end.

One more bit of book related news. I logged onto my page today and was delighted to see this:

june 16 amazon ranking

I’m not sure when this happened, but today is the first time I’ve ever seen it on my page. I’ll admit, I get thrilled by the little things so you can imagine how excited I got about it. So there’s another reason to read I Wish… if you haven’t so far. It’s the perfect opportunity to see what all the fuss is about.

Now for my artsy stuff of the day.

icad jun 16 11

This background might look a little familiar. I made about 5 cards at the same time using the same paints. I’d say that’s my biggest time saving tip. Work on 4 or 5 cards every time you have your paints out.

AJED Jun 16 11

This is the background I was working on for Art Journal Every Day. I’m not sure where I’m going with it, but that yellow is pretty bright. I might tone it down with another layer of color. At the very least a more muted shade of yellow.

I don’t think I’ll be finishing this page just yet though. I told Courtney that I’d attempt to take some step by step photos of how I work in my journal for her. Of course, the helpfulness of such a gesture is questionable given the quality of my photos, but it seems like an interesting challenge so I’ll give it a shot.

7 Comments

Filed under I wish, ICAD & Art Journal Every Day, indie publishing

7 responses to “Trying a new experiment

  1. Congrats! Awesome news about Amazon. Thanks for being so open about your sales. I still haven’t cashed my first royalty cheque for 43 dollars. It’s almost worth more just staring at me in my kitchen. I did it!

    • Right? The money isn’t really the point of the adventure for me right now. I can’t tell you how satisfying it is to know that people are reading a book I’ve written and really enjoying it. Magical.

  2. Awesome ratings! Even if you don’t have the amount of readers you’d like (yet?), at least you know that your readers like your writing. Personally, I think that’s probably the best result. Although, gas money ain’t too shabby.

  3. Joannie sparks

    I love giving new writers a chance, I am disabled and raising my grandaughter. She reads 3 books a day if i could afford them and she writes all the time. I believe she wants to be a writer one day.I am buying your book today because i got a good review from Nicole williams site. I just got her book. Good luck. Joannie

    • Thanks so much for giving me a try! I’m working on a couple of workshops for middle and high school level kids that I can give as a presentation to classes about indie publishing in general and worldbuillding this fall. I’d love to give it a test drive before I go live with it. If you think your granddaughter would be interested, let me know. If she (or anyone) has any questions about writing and indie publishing, I’d love to answer them. Email me at wrenemerson(at)gmail(dot)com or catch me on Twitter @wrenem.

  4. I finally got my review up on MyComfyChair.blogspot.com. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

