Homemade Cherry Limeade

It’s hot where I live. Like super “I want to tear off my own skin so I don’t feel the heat” hot. Like a lot of the houses around here, we don’t have a real AC. We do what we can with a swamp cooler. I can’t really describe the mechanics of this method of cooling, other to say that it’s not as effective as central air and that if you aren’t careful, mold grows everywhere from the constant moisture in the air.

We don’t even have our swamp cooler on yet, I’d rather deal with the heat than battle mold all summer. It’s been in the high 80’s here since March and lately it’s been almost unbearable.

Yesterday I got the craving for a cherry limeade. I know a lot of places don’t know the joy of a Sonic drive in, but I’m here to tell you that there’s nothing more thirst quenching than a Route 44 cherry limeade in the summer. So I decided to see if I could mimic the same at home and possible keep myself from going broke as I drink gallons of the stuff.

IMG_2537

It’s a fairly simple little recipe. Does it taste much like the original? Meh, close enough. I’m just not that picky.

*Sprite

*Cherry sno-cone syrup

*Lime juice

Pour the Sprite over ice and add the cherry and lime to taste. I don’t measure anything so sorry I can’t be of more help.

Leave a comment

Filed under the daily grind

Leave a Reply

