Catching up

Hey guys.

It’s been a few days without a peep from me and I was starting to get antsy. So I just thought I’d do another personal “what I’ve been up to” type of post.

Firstly, I was looking at my site stats yesterday and I checked out the search terms that bring people to my site. I’ve come to really enjoy seeing that people are looking for me or my book. I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of seeing that, to be honest. It’s incredible.

In that regard, it was business as usual, but then I saw that someone had done an… unusual search. Well, I’ll just let y’all have a look at it for yourselves.

vagina search

The herpes search, although funny, isn’t legit. Someone from #pubwrite actually did that one when I said it’s the search I would have expected given my topics of conversation on Twitter. But the search for my vagina? That’s the real deal, yo. Can you imagine? I wonder what they thought they’d find? To the best of my knowledge there are no photos on the interwebz of my lady parts.

On the other hand, my gyno did tell me that my vagina was hot once. True story. That’s why if I ever get around to writing Wren style erotica (tag line: Erotica so funny it’ll tickle your funny boner) I’m totally going to name it “My Gyno Says I’m Hot & Other Naughty Stories Gone Terribly Wrong” Copyright me, just now. If you see someone else trying to use this most awesome of titles just know I was robbed.

IMG_2409

IMG_2422

I went to the mall yesterday and bought some really kitschy, yet totally awesome accessories at a dollar store. I fancied up my ponytail with that feather thing and pretended that I was British and wearing an odd little hat. The bracelet has pictures of what I assume are famous Catholic folks. I feel vaguely like I’ll probably go straight to Hell for some sort of charge of blasphemy via tacky jewelry. I also picked up something like 4 bangles. I LOVE bangle bracelets so expect to see lots of them in pictures to come from this summer.

IMG_2323

Yesterday I also spent a good 20 minutes taking random photos of myself while I waited on the kids to get done with speech therapy. I figure that since I so willingly embarrass myself with bad photos, you guys can humor me when I take some that I don’t hate. Smile with tongue out

But just in case you were afraid I’d somehow gotten over taking terrible pictures, fear not. I asked my love to shoot a photo or two of me in our luxurious, inflatable, above ground pool (you know, so I can show you how we published authors live the glamorous life) and I looked terrible in all of them. So I give you the one I hated the least. Again with the familiar pouting, which as far as I can tell is my pitiful, painfully self aware smirk of awkwardness. I’m throwing in the glimpse of side boob for free. I’ve never met a swimsuit top that can contain all the angles of my wily breasts. If I’m not falling out the front or the bottom, I’m oozing out the side. Incorrigible little scamps, my boobs.

IMG_2421

Ok now, my eyes are up here.

In news not related to my vagina or boobs, I’ve got a couple of book related things to talk about.

Firstly, I received some really great reviews on a few different blogs. Check them out, I might be biased since they are about me, but they seem like some really great quality reviews… very well thought out.

BelleBooks says- “I fell in love with this book… it sets the reader up with quite a high expectation, and it does not disappoint!”

Writing Dystopia says-  “…the book moved fairly quickly but information was revealed very slowly.  This is what made it a book that held my attention.  I was always wanting to figure out what happens next.  Some twists were good, battle scenes were great, I loved it!”

Meaghan Ward says- “I Wish… is fast paced in the good way – I couldn’t put it down once I started it, because I had to know what was going to happen to Thistle.”

As mentioned previously, Ben Langhinrichs, of the Absent Minded Muse reviewed my book live via rhyming couplets as he read.

The next thing I wanted to mention actually comes from a suggestion that Meaghan made in her review… She mentions that without being able to flip back and forth in the Kindle, it’s really hard to follow who everyone is and how they are related. That’s totally understand able since there 13 witches in the Coven that are all mentioned by name at least once. As well as a double handful of other minor characters.

Since you asked, you shall receive. In the next couple of weeks I’m going to work on buying a domain and setting up a section or two that’s fully dedicated to the worldbuilding and characters of Desire. I’m thinking a wiki will be the best way to convey all the information. The hard part will be figuring out how to reveal things about each character without spoiling anything for people who are just starting the series.

If you have any questions, suggestions, or advice about switching a wordpress.com blog to a wordpress.org situation, let me know. And if you have any input as to what you’d like to see included in a wiki about Desire, or really just in general, leave me a comment or an email (wrenemerson(at)gmail(dot)com) and I’ll see what I can do to make that happen. It’d be awesome to turn this into the blog that fans built.

As for the last thing, I just thought I’d give you guys an idea of what’s on my plate right now, writing-wise. As it happens, quite a lot. I bought a calendar today to help myself set some realistic deadlines and yikes!

I can’t remember if I mentioned it or not, but I was going to work on an adult rom-com as my second project to give myself some space from the Desire books. I love the idea, but after rereading the first manuscript 3 or 4 times in a row during edits, I was pretty sick of it.

The thing is, I’ve had enough feedback I know that the second book is what everyone is interested in reading next. Nobody has said “Gee, Wren what’s the ETA on your unrelated project?” But 20+ people have asked about the sequel to I Wish… If that’s not a case of the people telling me what they want, then I’m a really bad sign reader.

So in an effort to give my fans (I have fans! Squee!) what they want, I’ve put my rom com aside and I’m working on the sequel. I’m working really hard towards a July 15th release date. So far I’m still on track to meet that goal, so that’s awesome.

I’m also committed to a couple of anthologies to be released later this summer. One is outside of my field as I’m trying to write some erotic horror. It’s ok to laugh, I’ll just wait until you’re done.

The part I think you guys will be more interested in is the YA paranormal anthology. The details are still being negotiated so I won’t tell you any specifics about it. What I can tell you is that I’ll be joining some of the hottest indie writers in the genre and that I’m going to be writing a story about Julia Carter’s teen years that will shed some light on her actions in I Wish… It’s a project I’m really excited about, both the story and the collaboration with such talented writers.

I guess this is enough aimless rambling. I hope everyone is enjoying their summer so far.

Edited for stupidity:

Oh my gosh guys, I forgot to remind you that tomorrow is the last day to leave a comment and win a copy of Addison Moore’s Ethereal books. Check out her interview and weigh in!

7 Comments

Filed under around blog land, the daily grind

7 responses to “Catching up

  1. Rinn Ziegler

    YAY, Ham is back! Isn’t being in the writing mode the best?

    Did I forget to tell you that I awarded you the Stylish Blogger Award? You can pick it up here: http://rinnziegler.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/stylish-blogger-award-or-things-you-didnt-want-to-know-about-me/

    Email or DM me when you are on Twitter so I can spend my 15 allotted minutes chatting with you.

    -Cheese

    • LOL, I totally saw that you tagged me, but I was choosing the route of avoidance rather than try to pick favorites. Does that not work?

      • That does not work – pick your favorites!!

      • @Meaghan- Why does everyone want me to choose between my friends? It reminds me of that old commercial that traumatized me as a child about an African woman who had to go in search of water and could only carry one of her two babies with her. The one she couldn’t carry would surely die.

        So ok, the people I don’t choose probably won’t die, but still. It makes me so sad.

      • Wow, that just made ME really sad. Pretty much everything about Africa is sad to me though, so.

  2. I’m just full of suggestions – here’s another one: tell me what awesome app you used to get the frame on that first pic you posted here. I’m a budding iphonographer myself 🙂

    I think a wiki would be great. I’m wondering whether later Kindle/ereaders will have a button or something that can bring you to an index and back without messing up the reading experience. If ‘I Wish’ were a printed book, you wouldn’t have this problem at all and I never would have mentioned it, but look! Now you get to pioneer a new frontier of e-pubbing, the e-book-wiki … ok, maybe it’s not new, but it would be new to me!!

    And for what it’s worth, my two cents are… you should definitely put out the next I Wish book before another story. Your fans are waaaaaiting…. (No pressure or anything, ha!)

    • That first photo was taken with the Hipstamatic app ($1.99 with tons of $.99 in app add ons). For awhile that was my favorite app, but then I came across the Cameramatic app ($1.99). I prefer that one because I can take pictures with the phone’s regular camera and edit them a ton of different ways. You can even create your own filters, although I’m usually too lazy to mess with that feature. If you have an iPhone, you should really get Instagram. It’s a free app and let’s you share your iPhone pictures with other users and on other social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter. I really like it.

      I also use PS Express (free), Diptic ($1.99), and SwankoLab ($1.99) sometimes for post photo processing.If you get Cameramatic, you can pretty much skip SwankoLab though.

Leave a Reply

