Interview and an Excerpt- Addison Moore

Interview and an Excerpt is a weekly feature that explores the process of writing and indie publishing through interviews with self published authors. The aim is to demystify the process for those who are aspiring to become indie publishers themselves. This week’s guest is Addison Moore who is currently number 1 in 3 different Amazon categories and sitting comfortably in the top 200. Here’s what this successful new voice in indie publishing had to say:

1.) How long have you been an indie author?

First, Wren, thank you SO much for hosting me on your blog! I’m thrilled and honored to be here. I self-published my first novel, ETHEREAL (Celestra Series Book 1) in late March of this year.

2.) How many books have you self-published?

One as of yet, but come next week, I’m hoping to get book 2 in the series, TREMBLE, out on e-shelves!

3.) Are you a pantser or a plotter?

Both! I’ve tried my hand at exclusively pantsing and it was more or less a disaster that led to two abandoned WIP’s (work’s in progress).

4.) Can you tell us a little bit about your writing process? Feel free to be as detailed as you like, this stuff is fascinating.

I write in two or three jags during the day. Early, afternoon (when I can) and late. And of course in between I try and live life. I need silence so I actually don earphones that could drown out the noise of a 747. Also, I hear the voices better that way. ;) 

5.) What is the best writing advice you’ve ever come across?

Just do it. Write every single day if you can and write when you’re not in the mood. My muse is often lazy so I can’t rely on him at all. I’ve heard those things from a ton of writers and it all rings true.

6.) If you were going to mentor a new writer through the publishing process, what pitfalls would you warn them against?

I would tell them to read often and widely. I would most certainly warn them of the deathtrap that is not reading. Writers usually don’t have a lot of time to read. That’s just the reality, but we need to carve out time for this most precious resource as it helps significantly in honing our craft.

6.) Are you currently earning a living with your writing?

LOL! No. Not by a long shot.

7.) What are your writing must haves? Music? A quiet table at a coffee shop?

Isolation works best, but I absolutely need silence. Usually when I’m out on a walk and listening to music, my WIP will cycle through my mind and new ideas always seem to crop up during that time. So music is totally important to the writing process for me.

8.) What tools or software do you use to write?

I have a Mac and I use word. I don’t use anything fancy like a writing software supplement. I do rely rather heavily on my spiral-bound notebook. I’m old school that way.

9.) What kind of promotion have you tried? What do you find to be the most effective?

I hit the Amazon message boards pretty hard when my book first came out. I see now that Amazon has banned that practice—probably because of me.  ;)  Other than that I have no magic formula. I’ve been fortunate enough to be featured on several awesome blogs such as your own. Also, the tags Amazon allows you to use are invaluable. Put in as many tags as you can think of when publishing your book.

11.) About how long from start to finish did it take you to finish your book(s)? About how many hours a day do you spend writing/editing?

I spend at least four to six hours of writing/editing a day. I spend months babysitting ideas just hoping they’ll grow into something spectacular. Once I hit the keyboard things move pretty quickly especially if I have a tight outline that I’m working from. I still let my characters off the leash once in a while. They have the capability to surprise me in both good and bad ways.

12.) How much of the process did you do yourself and what did you pay someone else to do?

I do all of my own writing and the initial edits. I had ETHEREAL combed over several times by four CP’s, but with TREMBLE I hired a freelance editor. I think she was well worth every penny. 

13.) I love the premise for Ethereal.  Can you tell us a little bit about your book?

ETHEREAL is about Sklya Messenger who moves with her family to (fictional) Paragon Island and meets two hot guys named Logan and Gage. She is immediately smitten with Logan although both guys are equally taken by her. She discovers some truths about herself and answers the question why it is she can read peoples minds when she touches them. Sklya discovers she is an offspring of the Nephilim angels and that an entire faction of crooked modern day angels are out to kill her. 

14.) Ethereal is the first in a series.  Do you mind sharing a little bit about what you’re working on right now? Book 2 perhaps? 😉

I would love to share about TREMBLE! I’m currently waiting rather impatiently to get back the final stamp of approval from my freelance editor and then I’m publishing it straight to Amazon and Nook. In book 2 of the series, Skyla finds herself having feelings for Gage as well as Logan, which complicates things a bit. Her life is turned upside down with the introduction of a new dangerous character that shows expressed interest in Skyla and she makes a concerted effort to travel back in time and save her dad. I’m also working hard on book 3 right now, which will contain Chloe’s diary (a character within the Celestra series).

Blog: http://addisonmoorewrites.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @Addison_Moore

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Addison-Moore/140192649382294

You can find Ethereal at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

Tremble can be purchased from Amazon.

Addison has offered to do a giveaway of her book, Ethereal to a lucky reader. If you’d like a chance to win a free copy just leave a comment below and I’ll have one of my minions help me pick a winner on Friday June 3rd around 10pm EST.

I’d just like to thank Addison one more time for joining us today. Now please enjoy this excerpt from the preface of Ethereal.

ethereal

*****

Falling in love is a lot like death. It chooses you. It decides the moment and the chain of events that will preclude the precise intersection of life in which it occurs. It uses you—treats you as though you were malleable in its warm pliable hands. It doesn’t bother to ask if you want it, or need it, just fills the gaping hole of destiny’s design.

Love. My world blooms with its beautiful never-ending ache. I would give all of my blood to my enemies to have it completely—if I knew it would satisfy them—if I could live without it. But I know the resolution. I know the end of the story before it ever begins. I must choose love. And for this, I will surely die. 

It is that time in my life—a time for love and a time for death. Fate had intertwined the two, bereaved of any mercy. It is in the architecture of my being, the infrastructure. The pillars of my life had been established long ago—the blueprint written in my bloodlines.

11 Comments

Filed under interview and an excerpt

11 responses to “Interview and an Excerpt- Addison Moore

  1. I feel much better now, knowing that a published author is a pantser and a planner, like myself 🙂

    Ethereal sounds great, and the cover is sooo pretty (I’m really kicking myself for spending all my book money for this month already! Gr!). I’m definitely taking the advice about reading to heart, because I haven’t been able to do as much of it lately, and I can feel the difference in my writing.

    Good luck, Ms. Addison, in all of your writing endeavors! And congratulations on publishing!

  2. Very interesting and useful interview. Hints of using Amazon tags and hiring a free-lance editor are especially thoughtful. Keep up the good work, both of y’all.

  3. Addison Moore

    Thanx Wren for having me! I had a blast doing the interview!

    Gabriellan, I think there’s a little bit of a pantster in every author. Good luck with your writing!

    Bill, I think my free-lance editor is priceless. I highly recommend everyone find a good one they can work with.

  4. Amy

    Great interview! I can’t wait to read book two! 🙂

  5. Great interview! Definitely will add you books to my to-be-read list 🙂 Thanks for sharing about your process Addison, it’s always nice to know we are not alone in this writerly world and there are other writers out there going through similar journeys.

  6. Those were great answers and questions. Ethereal sounds awesome, and the book cover is gorgeous! Best of luck with book 2!

  7. What a wonderful interview with and equally delightful writer. I really enjoyed your Q and A with Addison Moore. Congrats on a fantastic interview!

  8. Sounds like a good read! I’ve also been hearing quite about about the importance of tagging books on Amazon to up the sales rank, so should I be going nuts with the tagging when I review books on there?

  9. Pingback: Using Xmind as a timeline « Wren Writes

  10. Sierra.Komodo

    There are so many things here I can relate to, except for the published book part.. I really need to sit down and /write/, like Addison says we should. Also interesting to see that my gut feeling was correct. I should get back to reading more like I used to!

    Thanks for the time and sharing this with us.

    P.S.: I really like the fact you’re helping indie authors get there names out there with these interviews, Wren.

  11. I’m thrilled with Addison’s success and feel honored to have interviewed her on my blog~! Way to go Addison! Thanks for sharing, Wren~

Leave a Reply

