The end of the week numbers

Today is my last day of posting my numbers to the blog. I’ll probably do another check at the end of a month and possible every month after, but equally possible not. If anyone ever has a burning desire to know how I’m selling just ask. I’m not private about it at all.

58 US, 2 UK = #15,281. I think I gave away maybe 2 free copies all day. Now all that’s left is to see if giving away free copies helps me garner more reviews or sells my next book any faster.

It’s been an amazing first week as a published author. I can’t thank you all enough for coming along for the ride with me. It’s been one of the most thrilling things I’ve ever done. I couldn’t even sleep the first night, I was so excited. The fact that I keep selling copies day after day long after all my friends have bought a copy makes me really hopeful about my writing career. Like maybe I’ll actually have one.

Starting tomorrow I’m running a weekly feature on Mondays called Interview and an Excerpt. The questions are all writing and publishing related. I’m hoping to demystify the process and maybe give those of us who have already published a basis for comparison to see how we measure up. Everyone hears the numbers of people like JA Konrath and Amanda Hockings and if you’re anything like me, that can be a little bit discouraging. I’ll be lucky if I see $100 from the entire month and Konrath brags that he clears over $80k every month. I want to hear what real people are selling and how they are doing it.

The first interview is with my favorite writer and critique partner, Courtney Cole. You’ll want to check it out, she’s got some great advice for indies. See ya’ll tomorrow morning!

Leave a comment

Filed under I wish, indie publishing

Leave a Reply

