The life of a published writer

So after my post yesterday did I leave you guys buzzing with my almost certain amazing success? Because I sure had myself thinking I was on fire. And don’t get me wrong, my sales are still pretty amazing for a debut indie, but they aren’t as high as they were yesterday.

No screen grabs today, but my numbers as of a couple of minutes ago are 19 US sales and 2 UK sales for a ranking of #14,481. It’s still not live on B&N.

Of course, one factor that might be affecting my sales is that instead of promoting my Amazon page (like that), I’ve been plugging my book give away promotion which lasts until this Sunday if you haven’t taken advantage of it yet. Even though my book is bargain priced at $.99, if you could get it for free why pay for it?

For those curious about my experiment it’s still awfully early into it. Most people probably haven’t even had a chance to start reading it, let alone decide if they want to review it yet. I plugged my promo on Twitter, the Amazon forum, Kindleboards, and Nathan Bransford’s forums. I’ve gotten a helluva lot of page hits for me today. I probably average about 50 a day usually and today I’ve gotten 250. So people are following my links.

A lot less people are taking advantage of the free books than I thought they would. I don’t know if it’s because it’s not their cup of tea or if sending me an email is the deal breaker because it’s more work than they care to deal with. But whatever it is, I’ve only sent out about 20 free copies in the past 2 days. So there are about 40 potential fans out there right now. That’s a pretty promising start, I think.

I can tell you what I know for sure this has yielded me so far.  I’ve had one 5 star review posted (I don’t count Courtney’s review in this experiment since she beta read my original draft already) and offers to be featured on 2 different blogs. Not bad for having been published for like 36 hours, right?

Are you wondering what’s left to do once you get your book up? Surely the hard part is over. Now you just plug your book a couple of times and wait for Amazon’s check to clear, right? God, that’d be nice. I’ll bet it’s a lot more like that after you’ve got a couple of books up. But if you’re anything like me, you realize that you’ve got a couple of formatting issues to work out and a list of minor typos (thanks to my mummy’s eagle eye for catching those. She even noted locations. Now that’s the dedication of a mother’s love right there.)

Also, once you’re published you need to set up your author page on a lot of different sites. I’ve only gotten around to setting up my pages on Amazon and Goodreads so far. I also had to answer a bunch of promo emails, post my promo on the sites I mentioned above, fill out an interview for Courtney’s blog, all while checking my numbers obsessively. You might not think you’ll get caught up in all that, but it’s easier said than done once they are there to check. In fact, just talking about checking made me have to stop blogging and go look.

For me it’s really not about the money, because let’s get real… 21 sales at $.99 is like what? 7 bucks maybe? I still haven’t worked off the celebratory pancake breakfast we had yesterday. No, for me it’s almost like gambling or something. Is my number going to go up or down? The whole thing feels really arbitrary to me as if there’s next to no correlation between sales numbers and rank. I’ve watched my number drop for no evident reason since I hadn’t sold a copy in hours.  Who knows?

So as you can guess, I haven’t piled my fortune together into a heap that I can swim around in like Scrooge McDuck yet. I haven’t given up though. I believe in my story and I think that my choice to make it easily accessible is going to pay off in the end. I strongly believe that once more of my target audience becomes aware of my book it’ll sell itself.

You know what’s kind of weird though? I suspect that if a girl liked reading Twilight she’ll probably like I Wish… too. The weird part is that the two stories have nothing in common. And where they really differ is in the main character. Thistle isn’t a Bella, that’s for sure. Personally, I think that’s a great thing. Hopefully, my potential fans agree.

 

IMG_2061

1 Comment

Filed under I wish, indie publishing

One response to “The life of a published writer

  1. Hey! What do you mean I don’t count! Kidding. Your story is awesome and the series is going to be huge! I’ve heard from numerous people that climbing the sales ranks takes time– and you’ve gotten a jump start. Just be patient and success will come to you. I have great confidence in that.

    Hugs,
    Court

Leave a Reply

