Working, working, working

I’ve been pretty busy the past few days finishing up edits on I Wish… Although, my goal is to get my book up for purchase as close to the 15th as I can, it’s a self imposed goal. Nobody will be let down except me if I can’t do it, but I think I can so I’ve been foregoing my normal hours of hanging out chatting with the lovelies in #pubwrite so that I can polish my manuscript.

I thought it might be fun to share a snippet from my book between a girl named Darcy and the main character, Thistle, who is finding out about her heritage (including that her name really isn’t Thistle) and meeting family that she didn’t even know she had.

*****

“Hi there. I’m This- I mean, Jane.” Introducing myself that way would take some getting used to. What a normal name. Boring even.

“Jane?” Her pretty nose crinkled and the resemblance to a bunny was strong. “As in Jane Madison? Vanna’s bastard daughter?”

“Whoa, manners!” I didn’t have an earthly clue how to respond to such a frank statement that defied all rules of tact and social nicety.

She smirked. I couldn’t believe that anyone would act so rude outside of cheesy movies about mean high school girls. I mean, seriously?

“Surely you didn’t think that you were going to be able to show up here and ruin everything and everyone would adore you for it?”

“I’m a little scared to stick my hand into the crazy, but I’ll bite. What exactly am I ruining? You’ll have to forgive me for being a little slow to pick up on it because until half an hour ago I didn’t even know I had a bitchy cousin.”

Darcy stopped smirking, but I didn’t really prefer the death stare that replaced it. She looked like a girl who would cut a bitch. “Quit playing dumb. You know what showing up here right now means to my family.”

“Joke’s on you. I’m not playing. I have no friggin’ clue what you’re going on about.”

She rolled her eyes. “If that’s true then I can almost feel bad for you because you won’t have a prayer in this town.”

*****

Enticed yet? I hope so. I Wish… should be available in the next few days through Amazon and Barnes & Noble online store with the paperbacks ready shortly afterward. 

And be sure to look for a post in the next day or two where you can find out how you can get your hot little hands on a free copy of I Wish…

Leave a comment

Filed under I wish, writing

Leave a Reply

