The one where I read

I’m pretty excited about my progress on my book so far.  I’ve always had an issue about never finishing a project because I get caught up in an endless cycle of picking apart the first couple of thousand of words.  yWriter doesn’t have a great spell check.  Word is vastly superior in that respect.  At first I spent for-EV-er trying to correct words that I knew I was spelling incorrectly, but then I realized that there’s really no need for that right now in this stage.

It sounds lame, I know, but coming to the conclusion that I can write total crap right now and it just doesn’t matter was exactly what I needed.  I hit 10k words of 80k on day 3.  I’m not setting any records for fastest novel ever written, but at that pace I can expect to be done well within my projected goal of a month.  Knowing that I can complete a first draft in less than a month really makes it a lot less painful if I have to gut the thing and start over later. 

I don’t feel like I have a lot of free time.  I write as much as I can and the kids and my sweetie all want a piece of me.  When I’m not writing or doing things with the family I find myself struggling to learn everything I can about the different ebook formats or plotting the last two books in my trilogy.  I even multitask by working out plotting issues or characterization while I’m doing my chores or taking a shower.

I don’t think that’s the healthiest way to live.  I’ve decided that I’m going to force myself to spend some time every day reading something.  If I want to be an indie publisher, then I should really support others who are out there doing the same thing.  So I think what I’m going to do is read and review books that cost me $5 or less, with an emphasis on self published books.  A lot of authors are finding that they can price their books in that price range and still make a decent living because they see more of the profits. 

However, I’m not going to rule out other books if I find them in that price range.  I’ve been reading ebooks on my iTouch with the Kindle app (it’s free) so I keep an eye out for specials and freebies in the Kindle store.  Books on the Knob is really good about turning me on to them.  If an author/publisher is going to let me read something for free, the least I can do is give them a review in exchange for the entertainment.

I actually read a really thought provoking post a day or two ago about the true cost of “free” books, in this case books that are pirated, but it made me think.  When an author lists one of their books for free the only thing they are getting from it is the hope that someone will read their book and love it enough to buy the rest or at the very least like them enough to spread the word to other potential customers. 

I’ve also got a wicked cool used book store in town that has tons of used paperbacks.  Almost anything I buy there falls into the golden price range.  It’s where I find the Lois Duncan and Christopher Pike books that I loved so much when I was a teen.  It’s a painless way to try a newer author too.

So that’s my plan for the next little while.  I would encourage anyone who downloads a free ebook to share their review and let the world (and the author) know what you thought about the cool new book you just finished.

Leave a comment

Filed under book reviews, writing

Leave a Reply

